“DAY TWO: The 2013 Seanny’s”



2013-12-04 15.59.58

Today I’m doing things a little differently than normal. The Seanny’s are my version of WWE’s Slammy Awards, where I choose the best all year in professional wrestling in several different categories. Feel free to comment if you agree, disagree or even if you just want to tell me to go fuck myself, it’s all good.

Without further delay, let’s see who the Seanny’s go to…

Breakthrough Performer of the Year nominees:

Tomohiro Ishii, Seth Rollins, Roman Reigns, Dean Ambrose, Goldust, Antonio Cesaro, Sami Zayn

Winner: Goldust. In just three months, Goldust won the sort of an award that would ordinarily go to a wrestler who busted their for a full calendar year. Dustin Rhodes is that fucking good.

He’s not the biggest and he’s not the ugliest, but just watch him in that ring. Even my jaw hurts after watching a Shibata match.

Tag Team of the Year nominees:

“The Usos” Jimmy & Jey, “The Shield” Seth Rollins & Roman Reigns, Goldust & Cody Rhodes, “Killer Elite Squad” Davey Boy Smith Jr. & Lance Archer

And the Seanny goes to… The Usos! They haven’t been the most prominently featured tag team in WWE, but Jimmy & Jey work together as well as most 1990’s WWE tag teams. The Shield had a great run and Goldust and Cody are amazing, but the Usos work like one great wrestler in two bodies.

Match of the Year nominees:

Katsuyori Shibata vs. Tomohiro Ishii (NJPW – 8/4), Tomohiro Ishii vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi (NJPW – 8/2), Daniel Bryan vs. John Cena (WWE – 8/18), Shinsuke Nakamura vs. Kota Ibushi (NJPW – 8/4), Kazushi Sakuraba vs. Shinsuke Nakamura (NJPW – 1/4), Mark Henry vs. John Cena (WWE – 7/22) Brock Lesnar vs. CM Punk (WWE- 8/18), John Cena vs. CM Punk (WWE – 2/25), Antonio Cesaro vs. Daniel Bryan (WWE- 7/22), Rhodes Brothers vs. The Shield (WWE – 10/14), Goldust vs. Randy Orton (WWE – 9/9)

The winner…. Shibata vs. Ishii. This was a hard hitting no-nonsense war. Two guys fucking each other up.

The MIZtake of the Year: WWE drops the ball with Daniel Bryan AKA Big Show & Randy Orton fuck up big time!, Diva musical chairs, Alberto Del Rio’s world title run, The Miz’s babyface/heel/babyface run

And the winner is…. Alberto Del Rio’s world title run. The only time anyone cared about Alberto defending the title was when Dolph Ziggler cashed in Money in the Bank. While, unlike Miz, Del Rio has the talent, WWE pushed a guy who was colder than an scorned ex.

Moment of the Year:

Daniel Bryan wins the big one (SummerSlam)

The Future of Pro Wrestling:

Roman Reigns, Dean Ambrose & Seth Rollins.

Promotion of the Year nominees:

New Japan Pro-wrestling

World Wrestling Entertainment

And the Seanny award goes to… WWE. Although, they have gotten lazier, as the year went on, as far as pay-per-views go, WWE has put on more great matches than any other promotion. NJPW is a close runner-up. If they had a better main event scene, they may even have won.

Superstar of the Year: John Cena, Daniel Bryan, Hiroshi Tanahashi, Shinsuke Nakamura, Katsuyori Shibata, Antonio Cesaro

Winner… Daniel Bryan

The Seanny’s Hall of Fame inductions:

Terry Funk & Dory Funk, Jr.

“Nature Boy” Ric Flair

Lou Thesz

Andre the Giant

Bret “Hit Man” Hart

Jumbo Tsuruta

Arn Anderson & Tully Blanchard

Bobby “The Brain” Heenan

Steve Austin

Hulk Hogan

I will be attending the Royal Rumble in Pittsburgh on the 26th of January. If you’re there, say hi.

Tomorrow, I write about the Doctor and becoming a Whovian.

Stay tuned, readers!

– Sean


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s