“DAY SEVEN: SURVIVORS”


MONDAY, DECEMBER 9, 2013 (It’s technically December 10, but I want to keep to the format)

BELLEVILLE, ONTARIO

*TRIGGER WARNING SEXUAL ABUSE*

The human mind is a fragile thing. A relationship ends, an addiction consumes, innocence is stolen, and everything changes. For me, it may have started all the way back when I was sexually assaulted by an older boy (he was 17) when I was only 10 years old. At first, I was unable to comprehend what had happened to me, and later I was embarrassed, so I tried to repress the memory by denying that it ever happened. Suddenly, the girl I had had a massive crush on since I moved to Calgary was no longer a priority and playing with friends mattered less and less everyday. I just wanted to be left alone to my wrestling magazine and my books. I was insecure and I was even afraid to kiss a girl. It took over 10 years for that to happen, and even then, it was probably hormones that got me over it. It was even longer before I had sex.

When my first serious girlfriend and I broke up, I didn’t take it well. It was an abusive relationship and I hadn’t even noticed until months after it was over. It would be over 8 months before I recovered from the depression. I can’t tell you what I did it that time, other than me watching The Wire, but it wasn’t pretty. I stopped caring about myself, stopped shaving, I don’t even remember eating or showering, although, I obviously did.

Now that I’m dealing with the end of the most significant romantic relationship I’ve ever been in, I want to offer help to anyone who is going through a tough break up, a death, dark thoughts or anything else. Even if you’re just pissed off at the world and you don’t think anyone else cares, come to me and I will listen and do whatever you need me to do to help you out.

You are all survivors of something, and I’m proud of each and every one of you. Together, we can overcome anything.

– Sean

Leave a Reply

