“DAY 20: DAD”


SUNDAY, DECEMBER 22, 2013

BELLEVILLE, ONTARIO

Aunt Debbie, Mum, Grandpa Carleton, Dad, Aunt Cindy

                                                                Aunt Debbie, Mom, Grandpa Carleton, Dad, Aunt Cindy

In 2002, I lost both of my father figures. My Dad Tony and my favourite musician of all-time Joe Strummer. The first part of this blog is dedicated to my Father.

My Father didn’t get a chance to teach me a lot when I was growing up, but I value every last thing I learned from him. Without my Dad, I’m not sure I would be as polite as I am today. Dad taught me respect for women, especially my Mother, despite them being long separated. I even picked up my Dad’s dark sense of humour early on and I later adopted it.

Like most kids, I thought my Dad was the coolest Dad in the world. He wore cowboy boots, he knew how to fight and he had the best taste in music and movies of anyone his age. My Dad wasn’t perfect, but he was my hero.

I miss you, Dad.

– Sean

Leave a Reply

